The Rains of Castamere

I’m quite fond of books, and after watching the Game of Thrones series, I dove into the books. One of the noble houses of Westeros that caught my eye were the Lannisters. Ruthless, arrogant and insanely rich, and their sigil is a Golden Lion. I like that*

Before the books, there was a minor family who rebelled against the Lannisters. They judged the Lannister house weak and unfit to be their liege lords. They were sadly mistaken. Tywin Lannister crushed the family root and branch, leaving no trace except their burned out castle. And that was the end of house Rayne.

The exploits of Tywin were immortalized in the song the Rains of Castamere. Over the years, the song became notorious as a grim reminder to any family what would happen if they would cross the Lannister family. (spoiler alert!) The rebelling (young) lord Robb Stark experienced this the hard way, when the song was played during the Red Wedding, kickstarting the most vicious wedding in the history of Westeros, which left the complete force of Robb Stark and numerous Northern lord killed or captured.

One night, I could not sleep. I was listening to the Nationals awesome interpretation of the Rains of Castamere, and inspiration struck me. I decided to design this poster as a way to pass time. The Golden Lion stands proudly on top, and the Red Lion (which was the sigil of the Reynes) is torn down and left in pieces. I think this piece worked out well and it captured the grim feeling the song and its meaning have.

The Rains of Castamere

So, what do you think? Are the Lannisters the bad guys or just a family that thinks and acts as they should as one of the leading families in Westeros? I’d love to hear your opinions!

*My surname in English means The Lion, that makes them awesome in my book!

Leave a Reply

